Faculty Directory

Ephremides, Anthony

Ephremides, Anthony

Distinguished University Professor
Cynthia Kim Eminent Professor of Information Technology
Electrical and Computer Engineering
The Institute for Systems Research
Maryland Energy Innovation Institute
2333 A.V. Williams Bldg.

Anthony Ephremides holds the Cynthia Kim Eminent Professorship Chair of Information Technology. He holds a joint appointment with the Institute for Systems Research, of which he has been a founding member, and he is a also a member of and former Co-Director of the Maryland Hybrid Networks Center (HyNET), formerly known as the Center for Hybrid and Satellite Communication Networks (CHSCN).

He received his B.S. degree from the National Technical University of Athens (1967) and M.S. (1969) and Ph.D. (1971) degrees from Princeton University, all in Electrical Engineering. He has been at the University of Maryland since 1971 and currently holds a joint appointment as Professor in the Electrical Engineering Department and in the Institute of Systems Research (ISR) of which he is a founding member. He is co-founder of the NASA Center for Commercial Development of Space on Hybrid and Satellite Communications Networks established in 1991 at Maryland as an off-shoot of the ISR. He served as Co-Director of that Center from 1991 to 1994.

He was a Visiting Professor in 1978 at the National Technical University in Athens, Greece and in 1979 at the EECS Department of the University of California, Berkeley and at INRIA, France. During 1985-1986 he was on leave at MIT and ETH in Zurich, Switzerland. He was the General Chairman of the 1986 IEEE Conference on Decision and Control in Athens, Greece and the 1991 IEEE International Symposium on Information Theory in Budapest, Hungary. He also organized two workshops on Information theory in 1984 (Hot Springs, VA) and 1999 (Metsovo, Greece). He was the Technical Program Co-Chair of the IEEE INFOCOM in New York City in 1999 and the IEEE International Symposium on Information theory in Sorrento, Italy in 2000.

He has also been the Director of the Fairchild Scholars and Doctoral Fellows Program, an academic and research partnership program in Satellite Communications between Fairchild Industries and the University of Maryland. He won the IEEE Donald E. Fink Prize Paper Award (1992) and he was the first recipient of the Sigmobile Award of the ACM (Association of Computer Machinery) for contributions to wireless communications in 1997. He has been the President of the Information Theory Society of the IEEE (1987) and has served on its Board of Governors almost continuously from 1981 until the present. He was elected to the Board of Directors of the IEEE in 1989 and 1990.

Dr. Ephremides has authored or co-authored over 100 technical journal papers and 300 technical conference presentations. He has also contributed chapters to several books and edited numerous special issues of scientific journals. He has also won awards from the Maryland Office of Technology Liaison for the commercialization of products and ideas stemming from his research. He has served on the Editorial Boards of the IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control, IEEE Transactions on Information theory, the Journal of Wireless Networks, and the International Journal of Satellite Communications.

He has been the Dissertation Supervisor of over twenty Ph.D. students who now hold prominent positions in academia, industry, and research labs. He is the founder and President of Pontos, Inc., a Maryland company that provides technical consulting services since 1980.

Dr. Ephremides' interests are in the areas of communication theory, communication systems and networks, queueing systems, signal processing, and satellite communications. NSF, NASA, ONR, ARL, NRL, NSA, and Industry have continuously supported his research since 1971.

He has served in many capacities in the IEEE and other organizations, from local organization posts to President of the Information Theory Society and member of the Institute Board of Directors, including Technical Program Chair and General Chair of Major Conferences.

Honors and awards

    •    Distinguished University Professor 
    •    U.S. Naval Research Laboratory Alan Berman Research Publication Award (2007)
    •    IEEE Information Theory Society Aaron Wyner Distinguished Service Award (2006)
    •    Kirwan Research and Scholarship Prize, University of Maryland (2002)
    •    IEEE Millennium Medal (2000)
    •    ISR Outstanding Systems Engineering Faculty Award, University of Maryland (2000)
    •    ACM/SIGMOBILE Award for Outstanding Contributions to Research on Mobility of Systems, Users, Data, and Computing (1997)
    •    George Corcoran Award for Faculty, ECE Department (1978)
    •    IEEE Communications Society Distinguished Lecturer
    •    IEEE Fellow
    •    President of the IEEE Information Theory Society
    •    President of the Information Theory Society
    •    Member, IEEE Institute Board of Directors

IEEE Information Theory Society Matters

On this page I will include views, facts, articles, opinions, etc. pertaining to this Society of which I have been a member since 1968. Currently you can find my Historian’s column that I submitted for publication in the September 2018 issue of the Society Newsletter.


All aspects of communications systems (information theory, communication theory, multi-user systems, communication networks, satellite systems) with focus on energy efficiency and cross-layer approaches to design; systems theory, stochastic systems, optimization, signal processing, wireless communications, age of information, and other related, or unrelated, subjects.

UMD Clark School Highlights Disaster Resilience at Mpact Week

Five-day event focused on role of engineers in disaster prevention, mitigation, and response.

  • Fellow, 1984