Dr. Eric Wachsman

1206A Engineering Lab Building
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-2115
Phone: 301-405-8193

Dr. Eric D Wachsman, an expert on solid oxide batteries and fuel cells, is the Director of the Maryland Energy Innovation Institute (MEI2), and the William L. Crentz Centennial Chair in Energy Research with appointments in both the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Maryland. In 2021, he was named a Distinguished University Professor for his research accomplishments in fundamental ionic transport, electrocatalysis, advanced electrochemical energy conversion and batteries, and service and technological leadership to the State of Maryland and UMD. He has over 270 publications and 35 patents/patent applications. To date, three companies have been founded based on these technologies. In June 2021, Dr. Wachsman was also elected President of the Electrochemical Society.

He received his Ph.D. in Materials Science & Engineering from Stanford University, and his B.S. in Chemical Engineering from the University of California at Berkeley. Before joining the University of Maryland, he spearheaded the creation of the Florida Institute on Sustainable Energy at the University of Florida, and served as a senior scientist at SRI International.

He has contributed to the next generation of electrochemists having graduated 34 PhD and 30 MS students, supervised 38 postdocs and research scientists, and mentored several junior faculty. Of these, three have gone on to receive ECS awards. His involvement with students includes founding and serving as Faculty Advisor for ECS student chapters at both the University of Florida and the University of Maryland, with the Maryland chapter winning Outstanding ECS Student Chapter Awards in 2013 and 2017, and ECS Student Chapter of Excellence in 2014, 2015, and 2016.

Dr. Wachsman is a frequent invited panelist on fuel cell and hydrogen energy research, ranging from the US Department of Energy “Fuel Cell Report to Congress” and “Basic Research Needs Related to High Temperature Electrochemical Devices for Hydrogen Production, Storage and Use,” to the National Science Foundation “Workshop on Fundamental Research Needs in Ceramics,” NATO “Mixed Ionic-Electronic Conducting (MIEC) Perovskites for Advanced Energy Systems,” and the National Academies “Global Dialogues on Emerging Science and Technologies.” He also serves on numerous boards and was appointed by the Governor to the Board of Directors of the Maryland Clean Energy Center. He is a Fellow of The Electrochemical Society (2008) and the American Ceramic Society (2012), and an elected member of the World Academy of Ceramics (2017). 

Recent Honors and Awards

  • National Academy of Inventors - 2022
  • Distinguished University Professor - 2021
  • President of The Electrochemical Society - 2021
  • Vice President of The Electrochemical Society - 2018
  • World Academy of Ceramics - 2017
  • Carl Wagner Memorial Award of The Electrochemical Society - 2017
  • Sir William Grove Award, International Association for Hydrogen Energy - 2014
  • Pfeil Award, The Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining - 2014
  • Outstanding Invention of 2013, UMD Office of Technology Licensing
  • Fellow of The American Ceramic Society - 2012
  • Fuel Cell Seminar & Exposition Award - 2012
  • HTM Outstanding Achievement Award of The Electrochemical Society - 2012
  • Fellow of The Electrochemical Society - 2008